The Rev. Jonathan Springthorpe, was appointed Priest and Rector of the Parish of Lancaster, effective Jan. 6, 2020.  Many of you may know Jonathan through his ministry with the Westside Anglican Mission.  Mission and outreach resonate strongly with him, as does youth ministry, which he has been involved with for over 20 years.  We believe that Jonathan's mission and evangelical background and his love of children will ensure that we remain a vibrant Anglican presence in the West Side of Saint John for many years to come.


Jonathan and his wife Kristen have three children, Elijah, Jeremy and Olivia and a family pet – Charlie the dog!

Springthorpe family 1 - CROPPED.jpg


Brenda Clayton, Rick Cunningham, Heather Masson, Joyce Mitchell, Ngaire Nelson, Margaret-Ann Reid, Gordon Spinney

Our "layreaders" provide a leadership role in certain parts of the service, including "Prayers of the People", which they prepare to include current prayer needs in the news. On occasion, they lead the entire service and deliver the sermon in our rector's absence, and assist at weddings and funerals.

2021 Vestry Members

Wardens: Patti Skidmore & Sharon Baxter

Past Warden: Bruce MacLeod

Vestry Clerk: Terry Ricketts

Christian Education: Jonathan Springthorpe, Heather Masson, Margaret-Ann Reid

Building and Maintenance: Shayne Galbraith, Doug Fillmore

Housekeeping & Safety: Patti Skidmore, Beverly Janes

Communications: Sharon Baxter

Hospitality: Bruce MacLeod, Brenda Clayton

Mission and Outreach: Janet Brown, Terry Ricketts, Beverly Janes

Rentals: Shayne Galbraith

Worship: Jonathan Springthorpe, Janet Brown

Discernment: Jonathan Springthorpe

2021 Synod Delegates:

Susan Jack

Brenda Clayton

2021 Synod Alternates:

Bruce MacLeod

Margaret Ann Reid

Parish Development Officer for the Anglican Diocese of Fredericton:  Shawn Branch (

Organist and Choir Director:

David Mitchell (B.A., B.Mus., M.A.)

David is a noted voice teacher and singer, founding Director of the Sussex Choral Society and Polyphon A Cappella Chorus, Director of Still Waters Choir, and the past and founding Director of the Saint John Men's Chorus. He has led the ministry of music at Good Shepherd since 1998.


Church Sexton: Larry Totten

Larry has been cheerfully looking after our Church and Hall buildings since the days when his father George was the Sexton.